a novel, by Louis Armand

ISBN 978-0-9571213-3-1
Paperback, 222pp
Publication date: April 2013
Equus Press: London

Price: € 18.00 (not including postage)


Processed by 2CO.com

The dog days of 1983. The bombing of the U.S. embassy in Beirut. Ronald Reagan and Yuri Andropov, dancing into the sunset. Hess, Ascher and Wolf are orphans chance has brought together in a small Baltic seaside town. Twenty years on, the long hot summer of the Israel-Lebanon War. Hess, a down-on-his-luck screenwriter, finds himself in the Mediterranean, drinking to forget a wasted marriage. Wolf, haunted by his father's murder, is drawn into the nebulous world of international terrorism. When Ascher, a failed artist, commits suicide, all the stakes are changed. Or are they? With the Cold War, sex and punk rock throbbing in the background, Hess must confront his past, seeking to salvage dignity from defeat.

About the author:

Louis Armand (*1972) is a writer and visual artist who has lived in Prague since 1994. He has worked as an editor and publisher, and as a subtitles technician at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival. He is the author of four novels, including Breakfast at Midnight, described by critic Richard Marshall as "a perfect modern noir, presenting Kafka's Prague as a bleak, monochrome singularity of darkness, despair and edgy, dry existentialist hardboil" (3:AM Magazine). He is also the author of seven collections of poetry (most recently, Letters from Ausland, Vagabond: 2011) and a number of volumes of criticism (including Solicitations: Essays on Criticism and Culture, Litteraria: 2008). He edits VLAK Magazine (www.vlakmagazine.com).

Forthcoming from Equus Press in 2013:

Thor Garcia, Only Fools Die of Heartbreak (fiction)
Georges Bataille, Louis XXX (translated by Stuart Kendall)
Philippe Sollers, H (transated by Veronika Stankovianska & David Vichnar)